Lemon Ricotta Pancakes

First let me link the original recipe. http://www.chow.com/recipes/28985-lemon-ricotta-pancakes I hadn’t read it, just saw what it was, and had been dying to eat these for weeks. When I finally read the recipe at dinner time, thinking I would have a quick meal in no time, I was horrified at how many steps there are. It’s numbered 1-8, but even that’s deceiving, and I don’t know about you, but I make pancakes because they are easy. So below is how I totally redid that recipe and had delicious pancakes for dinner. First off, the changed ingredients:

  • 5 tablespoons coconut oil, plus more for coating the frying pan
  • 1 cup 1% milk
  • 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon fine salt
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • Zest from one lemon
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup fat free ricotta cheese
  1. Place coconut oil and milk in a small saucepan over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally until butter has melted; remove from heat and let cool slightly.
  2. In a medium bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, and 1/2 teaspoon of the salt; set aside.
  3. Place eggs, sugar, lemon zest, and vanilla in kitchen aid. Pour in a quarter of the milk-butter mixture (this will temper the eggs and prevent them from curdling), then add the remaining milk-butter mixture until smooth. I don’t know if this really prevented the eggs from curdling, but why risk it, right?
  4. Add the reserved flour mixture and stir with a rubber spatula until just combined (do not overmix).
  5. Gently fold the ricotta into the batter, being careful not to break down the texture of the cheese (the batter will be lumpy and streaked with ricotta).
  6. Cook like you would any other pancake

So it was still more complicated than using a pancake mix, but the results were well worth my lazy version of this recipe. I had them with vanilla yogurt and strawberries.

Hubs had them with strawberry yogurt and whip cream. … I don’t ask….

And the wee one was just excited to be there

They really weren’t heavy, which was a nice surprise since I didn’t separate the eggs and I put whole wheat flour in it. Here’s what the batter looks like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.