Crafting gives me hives… and oh look, a menu board

Sometimes I get crazy ideas. Once a crazy idea has formed, I pretty much can’t be relied on to focus on anything else until I have satiated the beast. This time, I decided I should make a menu board. Actually, I decided I needed a menu board. Obviously, a menu board was the answer to all dinner dilemma woes. And I would save money because it would make weekly menu planning all the easier if I could just pick up my most commonly used meals and thumb through them.

And oh pinterest, how you egged me on by directing me to an example of how perfect and easy it could be.

I did have a few moments of sanity. In these moments, I remembered that I’m a tad ocd without any artistic abilities, so I looked all over the web for an acceptable (read: cheap and not make-your-eyes-bleed ugly) stand-in that I could just purchase. Alas, it was not meant to be.

So I stared at paper and stickers for 30 minutes, I started feeling itchy and anxious about halfway through, and I burned my finger. Though in all fairness, you kind of get what you deserve if you are wielding  hot glue at 1:30 in the morning.

And after all that?

Blammo!

Ignore how weird the picture is. Looks better in person…

I haven’t written on the cards yet, but the basic idea is that I will start with all the cards in the top (a .25 crayon container), pick 7 for the week, at the end of the week they go into the bottom container. Rinse and repeat. That way you cycle through your meals. I’m in love.

4 responses to “Crafting gives me hives… and oh look, a menu board”

  1. Terri-Ann says :

    Ah! This is on my project list for the next week, too! This is the best meal plan idea I’ve seen yet. Hope it works for you.

  2. poohzcrew says :

    At my house, I would put that on the wall and never ever ever remember to use it. Then it would be like my FHE assignment board, which Karl says I have hanging up “FOR SHOW.” I won’t say he’s wrong, because I made it, and it’s really cute, and I have good intentions, but…

    • Em says :

      lol. Well, check up on me in a few weeks and see if I’m still using it. From the beginning, I knew I wouldn’t use it perfectly because plans change, but I do think it’ll help organize the week around here:)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.